Outer Hebrides

Itinerary

2011

Friday 1st April

Train from Chepstow to London (where we were asked for directions by Jon Snow) then sleeper to Inverness.

Saturday 2nd April

Train from Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh then minibus across Skye and ferry from Uig to Tarbert.

Sunday 3rd April

Dail Beg (Dalbeg), Dail Mor (Dalmore) and Calanais (Callanish) standing stones.

Monday 4th April

Dail Beg (Dalbeg) again, Tràigh Ghearadha, Stornoway and broch.

Tuesday 5th April

Tràigh Mangurstadh, Gleann Bhaltois (rust and waterfall) and Camas na Clibhe for lunch.

Visited the Blue Pig.

Wednesday 6th April

Lecture (a stop and ⅔ and iconic photographs), return visit to the Blue Pig and sunset from Gearrannan.

Thursday 7th April

Harris including golden eagle and church at Roghadal (Rodel).

Visited The Mission House Studio and bought a geode.

Friday 8th April

Morning around the blackhouses, afternoon at other standing stones and evening with too much whisky.

Saturday 9th April

Ferry from Tarbert to Uig then minibus across Skye.

Visited Skye Batiks and bought a midgie.

Train from Kyle of Lochalsh to Inverness.

Sunday 10th April

Train from Inverness to Chepstow in a day!

2014

Monday 14th April

Train from Chepstow to London then sleeper to Inverness.

Tuesday 15th April

Ferry from Uig to Tarbert.

Wednesday 16th April

Calanish Stones dawn.

Thursday 17th April

Lystantire/Magariarh (sp?)

Friday 18th April

Ferry from Tarbert to Uig, Skye.

2016

Saturday 23rd April

Train from Chepstow to Birmingham then lift to Glasgow. Stayed overnight at Glasgow Airport.

Sunday 24th April

Drive from Glasgow to Skye (via Fairy Pools in Glen Brittle) and then ferry from Uig to Tarbert via Lochmaddy.

Monday 25th April

South down Golden Road: ruined crofts at Manais then Loch an Luig south of Finsbay. Headland and harbour at Rodel. Back up west coast: willow and reeds at Horgabost and quick stop for view of Tràigh Sheileboist. No sunset.

Tuesday 26th April

Fresh snow overnight! Wet start at Tràigh Rosamol, Losgaintir. Over pass for snowy views of An Cliseam (high point of Harris). Then long drive out to Huisinis and walk around to Loch na Cleabhaig. Sunset at Seilebost.

Wednesday 27th April

More snow overnight. Views north to snow covered hills from Loch Drinisiadair along start of Golden Road. Slipway at Miabhaig. Blackhouse ruins and salt marsh at Direcleit (MS Stockholm at anchor off Tarbert). Lunch in Tarbert where Gaelic heard being spoken in the cafe. Onto Scalpay in the afternoon: abandoned house by bridge then walk out to Eilean Glas lighthouse. Aborted sunset at Tràigh Niosaboist, Horgabost.

Thursday 28th April

Toe Head: climbed Ceapabhal (views of St Kilda) and ruined chapel. Rocky beach at Bàgh Steinigidh. Onto Tràigh Iar before rain stopped play. Weather cleared for final sunset back at Seilebost.

Friday 29th April

Early ferry from Tarbert to Uig and then drive from Skye to Glasgow (via Trotternish Ridge and attempt at Buachaille Etive Mòr cliche). Stayed overnight at Glasgow Airport.

Saturday 30th April

Lift from Glasgow to Birmingham then train to Chepstow.


webmaster@casgwent.com
$Date: 2016-05-02 09:02:03 $